Getting timeSincePress into a table

Hi -
I think I need a clever solution. I want to create a table that is pressCount in one column and timeSincePress in another. I’d do it as below, but cellContent won’t take variables as inputs. I may be missing something obvious – any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

a1=click.pressCount
cellContent(a1,1): “{click.pressCount}" cellContent(a1,2): "{click.timeSincePress()}”

Is this what you have in mind? I’m new to cl myself but I thought I could tackle this one (with a lot of c&p from the examples, lol). :slight_smile:
https://teacher.desmos.com/activitybuilder/custom/5f1defbf1ad2086c61e88d3a

2 Likes

Just for anyone else in general, (unless it’s changed) cellContent() doesn’t accept variables. You always have to enter a specific row and column so cellContent(a1,1) doesn’t make sense to the program.

1 Like

Thanks! However – what I’m struggling with is keeping the data. So it’s a table with multiple rows.
Column one is the number of the click, column two is the number of the last click.
My 1984 programming brain is having trouble figuring out how to store the old data. Once I get a value for, say, click 1, how do I store it in a variable or a table so that it doesn’t change? What’s new to me is the way CL recalculates everything all the time, so if I say a1=button.timeSincePress(), I need to somehow NOT have it do that for a1 next time, but for a2 instead. I only need about 6 presses, so I can do them individually. Here’s the kind of table I mean:
Screen Shot 2020-07-26 at 5.40.51 PM

Thanks!

Thanks, Daniel. I saw that in a previous post of yours from a while ago – saved me some frustration! (Would be nice if it worked, though.)

Just discovered lastValue – I think I can make this work!

1 Like