How to code a typical exercise

Hi. I’ve been using Desmos all year. I’m a novice when it comes to the computation layer. I think there may be others out there that want to do something simple like I’m going to describe. It is something I could use for a typical practice exercise.

What I want to do is this:

1. Ask a question with a Note and a Sketch with a background picture.

2. Provide a math input answer box. When the answer is correct, give a thumbs up.

If it is incorrect the first time, give the thumbs down and say something like “You have two more attempts before you can view the solution.”

If it is incorrect a second time, “You have one more attempt before you can view the solution.”

If it is incorrect a third time, “You may continue to attempt the correct response, or you may look at the solution.”

1. At this point, let (what I show in my example as “hint please”, but it should say, “solution”)… let the “solution” button appear, and allow the student to see a sketch identical to the first, except with the solution written on it.

I figure this can’t be that difficult to do. I know what I want to happen, but I’m stuck.

https://teacher.desmos.com/activitybuilder/custom/60e3b7eeefaf5cb85d43eb27

I think this is what you are wanting. Essentially I made a count variable based on the submit button.
count=inp4.submitCount

1 Like

Wow! Thanks. You were so quick about it, too. Thanks.

https://teacher.desmos.com/activitybuilder/custom/60e4cc08b587725b80dcc930

Here is the link to what I did with what you sent. It was a neat experience to try to figure out the computation layer using what you wrote.

The few changes I added make it so that after you input the correct answer, you can see the solution, and the hints go away. You don’t have to submit 3 times before viewing the solution.

I added a hint. You can view the hint any time after the first time an answer is submitted up until the third time.