Two possible solutions

Hi there. I’m really new to using the computational layer and am slowly figuring things out. Here is one I am currently stuck on. I want to be able to check inputs for correctness. I understand the code for checking a particular value, but what if there are two or more correct solutions. For instance, 1/2 or 0.5 or 50% could all be correct answers. How do I code for this? Thank you.

For numerical values, 1/2 and 0.5 are considered equivalent (it’s actually a little harder if you want a specific one). If you type “50%” into a math input (in a table as well), it will autofill to look like this "50% of ", basically prompting you for 100 in this case. But if you wanted to accept “50% of 100” then…
correct= input.numericValue=0.5 or input.numericValue=50

Students might also type “50% of {insert problem total here}”. Or, you could just have a prompt or warning to give an answer as a fraction or decimal. Or, you could add a suffix to the input or table cell if you specifically wanted as a percentage, and just accept 50. It depends on your learning goal I suppose.

1 Like

In general, you can use Boolean operators for conditional statements. and and or are valid to use. You can also do combinations with parentheses. For example:

correct = (condition1 and condition4) or (condition2 and condition3)

Thank you for your quick response @Daniel_Grubbs.

The “or” doesn’t seem to be working. By example. Let’s assume I have this bit of code:
correct: linearTwo = 9 and linearThree = 12 and exponentialTwo = 12 and exponentialThree = 24

What if I wanted to accept two answer choices here where I am defining the correct value for several variables?

Would this work?
correct: linearTwo = 9 or 3 and linearThree = 12 or 72 and exponentialTwo = 12 or 16 and exponentialThree = 24 or 15

Admittedly, my answer choices don’t make any sense. I’m thinking more about the syntax. Do I need to add parentheses anywhere?